Canadian Experience Class

Canadian Experience Class

The Canadian Experience Class (CEC) is a pathway for people who have worked in Canada for at least one year to become permanent residents. It’s part of the Express Entry system in Canada.

Why CEC Matters:

The Canadian government values the skilled workers already contributing to Canada and aims to make them permanent residents. These are individuals and families who have built their lives in Canada.

What is Express Entry?

Express Entry is a system that allows Immigration, Refugees, and Citizenship Canada (IRCC) to invite eligible candidates to apply for permanent residence. Candidates express their interest in settling in Canada by creating an online profile.

How it Works:

People who can apply are put in a group called Express Entry. They get scored by looking at their details using something called the Comprehensive Ranking System (CRS). Alongside the Canadian Experience Class, the pool includes candidates from other programs like the Federal Skilled Worker Class and Federal Skilled Trades Class.

Drawbacks: There’s no guarantee of receiving an invitation to apply even if you meet the criteria for the Canadian Experience Class.

Eligibility Criteria: To qualify for the Canadian Experience Class, applicants must have at least 12 months of skilled work experience in Canada within the last three years. This experience must be gained legally and in certain skilled occupations.

Language Requirements for Canadian Experience Class (CEC) Candidates

Achieve the necessary language proficiency levels in speaking, reading, listening, and writing. These levels are specified in the table below and must be confirmed by taking an authorized language test.

CEC candidates can take any of the following language tests approved by the Immigration, Refugees, and Citizenship Canada (IRCC):

  • CELPIP-General (English)
  • IELTS-General (English)
  • TEF (French)
  • TCF (French)

Candidates who demonstrate proficiency in both English and French can earn additional points in the Comprehensive Ranking System (CRS). To determine your eligibility for the Canadian Experience Class, use our Express Entry CRS Calculator. This tool assesses your eligibility for all three federal economic immigration programs managed under Express Entry, including CEC. Additionally, it provides an estimate of your CRS score and your competitiveness within Express Entry.

Applying for the Canadian Experience Class – A Step-by-Step Guide

Let’s delve into the process, starting from entering Canada as a worker to obtaining your Permanent Resident (PR) card.

Step 1: Acquire a Canadian Work Permit

Having authorization to work in Canada is crucial for this program. Depending on eligibility, you may obtain an open work permit through programs like the International Experience Canada (IEC), or a closed work permit, such as those issued with a positive Labour Market Impact Assessment (LMIA) or for Intra-Company transfers.

Step 2: Accumulate a Year of Work Experience in Canada

To qualify under the Canadian Experience Class, you must have at least a year of full-time (or equivalent part-time) work experience in Canada.

Step 3: Meet Additional Eligibility Criteria

Ensure you fulfill other requirements such as language proficiency. English proficiency can be demonstrated through tests like IELTS or CELPIP, while French proficiency can be showcased through TEF or TCF. Candidates proficient in both languages may earn extra points.

Step 4: Create an Express Entry Profile

Visit the IRCC website to create your profile, providing personal information and supporting documentation such as proof of language proficiency and work history.

To determine your eligibility and potential CRS (Comprehensive Ranking System) score for the Canadian Experience Class, utilize our Express Entry CRS Calculator.

Step 5: Enhance Your Profile and CRS Ranking

If your CRS score falls below the invitation cutoff, refer to our guide on boosting your CRS score.

Step 6: Invitation to Apply Received

This step is often the most exhilarating as it grants you and your eligible family members the opportunity to submit an application for permanent residence. Following receipt of the invitation, you will have 60 days to compile and submit a comprehensive application.

Step 7: Complete Medical Examination, Provide Security Background Checks, and Submit E-Application

All applicants under the Canadian Experience Class undergo screening for potential medical and criminal inadmissibility. Alongside your application, you must demonstrate that you have undergone a medical examination conducted by an IRCC-recognized panel physician.

Step 8: Review of E-Application

An immigration officer from Canada will assess the submitted e-application and notify you if any additional documentation is necessary.

Step 9: Confirmation of Permanent Resident Status Received and Completing Landing Process

Roughly 80% of applications filed under the Canadian Experience Class undergo processing within a timeframe of fewer than six months. Upon successful processing, applicants are issued a Confirmation of Permanent Residence (COPR) document. This document is signed and dated by an officer at a Canadian port of entry or an IRCC office upon granting permanent residence.

Step 10: Obtain Permanent Resident (PR) Card

Once you possess your Confirmation of Permanent Residence, you are eligible to apply for your PR card. This card serves as evidence of your status in Canada and can be used for re-entry into the country if you travel abroad.

Understanding the Canadian Experience Class

What is the Canadian Experience Class?

In Canada’s immigration system, there are various ways for people to apply. One of these is the Canadian Experience Class (CEC). Apart from general draws and category-based draws in the Express Entry system, Canada also has specific draws for programs like CEC.

Who is CEC for?

During the pandemic, the Immigration, Refugees, and Citizenship Canada (IRCC) targeted candidates already in Canada. Around 90% of CEC candidates are usually in Canada at any given time.

Proof of Funds Requirement

Under the CEC program, applicants who receive an Invitation to Apply (ITA) don’t need to show proof of settlement funds.

The Canadian Experience Class (CEC) Immigration Program is a pathway for individuals who have gained skilled work experience in Canada to become permanent residents. It is designed for temporary foreign workers and international students who have adapted to Canadian society and have the necessary skills and experience to contribute to the economy.

To be eligible for the Canadian Experience Class (CEC) Immigration Program, applicants must have at least 12 months of skilled work experience in Canada within the last three years, meet language proficiency requirements in English or French, and plan to live outside the province of Quebec.

The Canadian Experience Class (CEC) Immigration Program benefits applicants by providing them with a streamlined pathway to permanent residency in Canada. Since they have already gained valuable work experience in Canada, they are familiar with the Canadian job market and culture, making it easier for them to integrate into Canadian society as permanent residents.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *