Federal Skilled Trades Program

Federal Skilled Trades Program

The Federal Skilled Trades Program serves as a pivotal pathway for trades workers aspiring to relocate to Canada. It stands as the sole federal initiative tailored explicitly for this purpose, facilitating the permanent migration of qualified tradespeople from any corner of the globe to Canada.

Advantages of the Federal Skilled Trades Program

Apart from its hallmark feature of expeditious processing, participants in the program stand to gain additional advantages through the Express Entry system.

Historically, the Immigration, Refugees and Citizenship Canada (IRCC) has differentiated its selection criteria for candidates under the Federal Skilled Trades Program. Unlike other programs where significantly higher scores are requisite, candidates with scores as modest as 199 have been extended invitations to apply. Such distinct draws for skilled trades have been conducted at least annually since 2017.

For trades professionals, securing a job offer from a Canadian employer stands as one of the key pathways to qualification. Moreover, a job offer can augment an applicant’s points tally, thereby enhancing their prospects of receiving an invitation to apply.

Possible Downside

While eligibility under the Federal Skilled Trades Class presents an opportunity, it by no means guarantees acceptance. The IRCC’s focus on candidates from this category has fluctuated over time, leaving an element of uncertainty. Nevertheless, applicants can take proactive measures to bolster their chances of receiving an invitation to apply.

Requirements for Federal Skilled Trades Program

  • Candidates aspiring to participate in the Federal Skilled Trades Program must meet a set of stringent eligibility criteria:
  • Attainment of required language proficiency levels in speaking, reading, listening, and writing, as per Canadian Language Benchmark (CLB) standards.
  • Accumulation of a minimum of two years of full-time work experience (or its part-time equivalent) in the skilled trade over the preceding five years.
  • Demonstration of skills and experience encompassing the essential duties of the occupation.
  • Getting a job in a skilled trade for at least one year from a Canadian employer or having a certificate for that trade from a Canadian authority.

Settlement Funds Requirement

Candidates under the Federal Skilled Trades Program, lacking an offer of arranged employment, must declare adequate settlement funds upon entering the Express Entry pool. These funds, varying with family size, must be readily available, transferable, and unencumbered by financial obligations.

The Federal Skilled Trades Program Process

For candidates navigating through the Federal Skilled Trades Program process, the journey unfolds in several distinct steps:

  • Verification of requisite work experience.
  • Confirmation of trade inclusion on the designated list.
  • Fulfillment of additional eligibility criteria.
  • Creation of an Express Entry profile.
  • Optimization of the profile and ranking under the Comprehensive Ranking System (CRS).
  • Reception of an invitation to apply.
  • Completion of medical examinations, provision of security background checks, and submission of an e-application.
  • Review of the e-application by relevant authorities.
  • Receipt of confirmation of permanent resident status and undertaking the landing process.
  • Acquisition of the Permanent Resident (PR) card.

To be eligible for the Federal Skilled Trades Program, applicants must have at least two years of full-time work experience in a skilled trade within the last five years, meet the minimum language requirements in English or French, have a valid job offer or a certificate of qualification in that skilled trade issued by a Canadian authority, and meet other criteria related to health, character, and admissibility.

Examples of skilled trades recognized under the Federal Skilled Trades Program include electricians, welders, plumbers, carpenters, heavy-duty equipment mechanics, machinists, and industrial electricians, among others. These trades are classified under specific codes listed in the National Occupational Classification (NOC).

Unlike other immigration programs like the Federal Skilled Worker Program (FSWP) or the Canadian Experience Class (CEC), the Federal Skilled Trades Program is specifically tailored for individuals with experience in skilled trades. It focuses on attracting workers who possess the necessary skills and experience to contribute to Canada’s economy in fields where there is a demand for skilled workers.

1 thought on “Federal Skilled Trades Program”

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *